Dear Future Husband

“Dear future husband,
Here’s a few things
You’ll need to know if you wanna be
My one and only all my life.”

I’ll be honest; I have a pretty long list of requirements. (I’m only going to share a few.)

The most important being having a relationship with Jesus.

The second being loving me. 🙂

And the third is having a love for special needs kids.

*Yes, I know I will be lucky to just find these three things let alone the rest of my list. But God.

I feel a need to share my reasoning behind number three. And I have three reasons.

1. Faith – my sister

My sister has special needs. Someday when the Lord calls my parents home to be with Him, Faith will need someone to live with. I refuse to put her in a “home” so she will be living with me or one of my other three siblings. I do not know which one of us will be in a place to take her, but with me being the oldest, it very likely could be me.

Faith can be a lot of work. Hopefully by the time my parents pass on she will be able to walk, talk, and eat by mouth but that is not what she is capable of right now. So yes, future husband, when you sign that marriage certificate, you are signing up to assist in caring for Faith. She is seriously one of the sweetest people you will ever meet though, so even if she has an accident all over our brand new couch, she will smile and giggle as her form of apology.

p.s. She will have to come over for sleepovers too!

2. Me – family history

My mom and both of her sisters each have a child with some form of “handicap.” So odds are I may have a child with special needs myself someday. It is just a reality that has to be faced. I love special needs kids so having one of my own would be a joy.

I do not wish disabilities upon any on my future kids but if we were given a special needs child it would not be the end of the world. So, future husband, I warn you of two more things. First, I want a Duggar sized family. Second, the odds of me having a child with special needs are probably very large; especially considering the amount of children I want.

3. Adoption – yup

I would love to adopt a special needs child…or two…or three. These children need love. There are circumstances where the parents cannot or will not take care of the child and it is in situations like those that I would love to adopt. Just wait, it gets crazier. I want to adopt the ones who cannot walk, talk, or eat by mouth. I know, I’m insane. But those children are the hardest to find parents for and considering I have some personal experience, it would not be too bad.

Future husband, get ready because I want a Duggar sized family, I want to homeschool, I want special needs children, and if that has not scared you enough yet, I love the pro-life movement and am determined to stay involved no matter what. So, yes, we will be “that homeschool family.”

*Watching every man on the planet run away from me*

I do have faith that God will send the right one in His perfect timing. I just pray that God gives him strength…and possibly an extremely well paying job. (That’s a lot of mouths to feed!!!)

So, future husband, there are just a few of the things that you need to know if you want to be my one and only.

Have something nice to say? Comment here!

